The “Giovani Ricercatori” 2008 Award to Dott. Francesco Cacciola

Published Categorised as NEWS eng

Giovane ricercatore 08 Cacciola

Dr. Francesco Cacciola, currently a fixed-term researcher at the University of Messina, was the winner in 2008 of the prestigious “Young Researchers” award, for the scientific-technological macro area, following the evaluation of the scientific production of the year 2007.


The University of Messina rewards young researchers

“A day dedicated to the value of research, a stimulus for young people and a symptom of a University that knows how to look at scientific productivity”. These are the words of the rector, prof. Francesco Tomasello on the occasion of the event “Awards of merit in research”, held in the Aula Magna of the University of Messina.

“We are a University that has different types of knowledge – continued the rector -. We must focus on the quality of training and we are convinced of the importance of research, not just that which produces technology transfer”.

During the morning, twelve doctoral students from non-EU countries (Ethiopia, Iran, 2 Colombia, Russia, Albania, Ukraine, 3 India, New Zealand, Brazil) were presented to the academic community, who will work within the ‘Peloritan University.

“The exchange of students, PhD students and researchers – said the rector – is an important challenge for our University and it is a sign that the internationalisation, which we have been promoting for some time, works”.

The teacher. Maria Chiara Aversa, delegate for research in the scientific-technological area, retraced the position of the University of Messina on PRIN, research programs of national interest, while prof. Giuseppe Gembillo, delegate for research in the humanities area, focused on the interaction between scientific and humanistic research.

The event concluded with the award ceremony of the Young Researchers 2008, each of whom was given a parchment and a check for five thousand euros.

Below is the list of awardees:

Area umanistica

  1. Altavilla Stefania
    2. Bellantone Andrea
    3. Criniti Nicola
    4. D’Andrea Diletta
    5. Luigi Leone
    6. Vincenzo Schirripa

Macroarea economico-giuridica

  1. Basile Mariaconcetta
    2. Cusmà Piccione Alessandro
    3. Carabetta Stefano
    4. Barilla David
    5. Gatto Elisa
    6. La Rosa Emanuele
    7. Tarsia Tiziana

Macroarea scientfico-tecnologica

  1. Puntoriero Fausto
    2. Nastasi Francesco
    3. Migliardo Federica
    4. Consolo Giancarlo
    5. Finocchio Giovanni
    6. Corsaro Carmelo
    7. Cacciola Francesco
    8. Venuti Valentina
    9. Genovese ChiaraMacroarea Farmaco-Biomedica
  2. Di Paola Rosanna
    2. Bolignano Davide
    3. Crisafulli Concetta
    4. Santarpia Mariacarmela
    5. Messina Sonia
    6. Lo Giudice Angelina
    7. Michaud Luigi